Skip to product information
1 of 4

My Store

Kenley Kristofferson: Prairie Suite for Trombone Octet

Kenley Kristofferson: Prairie Suite for Trombone Octet

Regular price $28.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $28.00 USD
Sale Sold out

This piece was commissioned by the Manitoba Trombone Collective in 2017 and premiered by over forty trombones at the Great Brass/Great Cause concert that year. The trombone octet is divided into three movements, each chronicling part of a prairie day.

Movement I is Sunrise, and waits for the sun as it slowly peeks over the horizon, sharing its light with the wide open prairie sky. The bass and tenor registers of the trombones really lend themselves to the lush harmonies and close clusters that fill the performance space with warmth.

Movement II is Shenanigans, following kids who need to fill the long days outside in the long grass and, of course, find some trouble to get into. A bouncing and rollicking feel, highlighted by quick rhythms and fast slides make this tremendously fun to play.

And the evening begins in Movement III, Nightfall. The cool evening air and the serenity of the fields are depicted in beautiful harmony that slowly rises and falls, like breathing, preparing for the next day.

View full details